A Mother’s Day Gift of Words

Early this Mother’s Day morning, as I sipped a lovely spouse-brewed-and-delivered cafe mocha leisurely in bed while half quiltily savoring Anne Lamott’s Imperfect Birds (I know, it’s Mother’s Day but it still felt so exquisitely selfish), my ten-year old son appeared quietly by my side, a bundle of droopy flannel pajamas and tossled browning hair.  In his hands he proudly held something that was immediately familiar to me–that oversized, brightly colored (purple), glue-laden, construction paper card that ritualistically appears on special occasions throughout the year…Christmas, Thanksgiving, Easter, and of course Mother’s Day. Parents know these cards….the ones with the templatized statements of love and appreciation taken down from a school chalkboard, and accompanied by a coordinating artistic endeavor that makes each card feel unique. We accept them with smiles, and lovingly add each to the pile that grows as tall as our own children in the ensuing years.

I noticed something about my son over a year ago, however. He is showing those subtle signs of a young writer within, looking to get out. He has a certain acumen for words and it’s got my attention. Here are the words he wrote to me for Mother’s Day:

Makes my day

Outstanding

Teaches me

Happy

Enjoys me

Respects me

A select few words can convey so much! What a beautiful gift for this grateful Mom.                                                                                                  

 

                                

About onequietvoice

I work in the publishing industry where I focus on developing print and digital products for technology professionals. I am interested in literacy and technology and how the two can coexist to impact our culture in meaningful ways. I am passionate about preserving the public library system in our country.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Mother’s Day Gift of Words

  1. Lisa says:

    Loved hearing about your Mother’s Day morning. Aren’t our little boys the best!? Mine told me I was beautiful today and gave me two precious handmade cards. As I was very gently pulling them apart because of the glued-on sequins adhering to both notes, he said, “and that is another reason why you are a good mom…” — not just that I remember to pack his lunch.

    Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

