More about Farishta…in Patricia McArdle’s own words

Patricia McArdle in Afghanistan

Through the miracle of social media, author Patricia McArdle read my recent post about her wonderful book, Farishta. She took the time to write a Comment which I want to share with my growing community of readers. In her own succinct and sincere words she states her motivation for writing this book.  I am grateful that she visited onequietvoice and I am even more intent on bringing visibility to her book and to her mission of spreading awareness worldwide about solar cooking. I have attached an image of Ms. McArdle in Afghanistan demonstrating the technology. Please visit www.solarcooking.org to learn more about Ms. McArdle’s work and the topic itself. 

Dear OneQuietVoice,
I really appreciate your comments on Farishta. My goal in writing this novel was to connect with readers who would probably never pick up a non-fiction tome about the war in Afghanistan or about solar cooking, but who might be drawn into the world I inhabited for twelve months via a compelling work of fiction. I hope that other readers will have reactions similar to yours. I believe that Americans need to know more about the complicated situation in Afghanistan, and to understand the implications of that war for the families of those who have lost their lives and for surviving soldiers and civilians who will have to bear physical and psychic scars for the rest of their lives. There is so much more to that war than the daily body counts and the endless reports of corruption.
–Patricia McArdle

About onequietvoice

I work in the publishing industry where I focus on developing print and digital products for technology professionals. I am interested in literacy and technology and how the two can coexist to impact our culture in meaningful ways. I am passionate about preserving the public library system in our country.
This entry was posted in Books Worth Reading!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

